Six weeks post op – a pretend workout

page mill y_0904On a bit of a whim this morning – six weeks following surgery to repair her left Achilles tendon –  the female DG decided to head to the Page Mill YMCA and see what machines she could use without stressing her still recovering tendon. She remains pretty astonished at how all over the map various doctor’s approach the post-surgical process. She remains in a cast while she reads about other people who go into a boot after week two. Some start physical therapy within a couple of weeks; others much more delayed, as it seems is her surgeon’s practice. She was reminded of all of this when the first person she ran into at the Y today was a woman wearing a boot who had less invasive Achilles tendon surgery four weeks ago and had been riding a recombinant bike every since. So in addition to a half dozen weight machines that provided upper body exercises, that’s what the female DG did. Pedaling is excruciatingly boring and no where near the cardiovascular workout she’s been accustomed for decades. But guess it’s a start and something she’ll try more when she’s in a boot (and doesn’t have to worry about getting a sweaty cast).

1 Comment

Filed under Achilles tendon surgery

One response to “Six weeks post op – a pretend workout

  1. Sandy

    Hello. I am a 34 year old female (also a runner), and I had surgery on August 21st to repair a ruptured left achilles tendon. (I sustained this injury during an ambitious soccer match against a team consisting of players roughly 2/3 my age!) I sympathize with your astonishment with the varied treatment approaches. My doctor is also opting for the more conservative approach, as I have been in a hard NWB cast for 3 weeks. I hope to graduate to a weight bearing cast on September 14th, after which I’m told I SHOULD be getting out of casts altogether by the first week of October, fingers crossed.

    I’ve enjoyed your blog, if only to know there is someone else out there like me, who has found that being fit and active has just been barely enough to pull through surgery, recovery from surgery, and managing simple tasks of day-to-day living. It has been humbling. And yah, my hands are super sore from the crutches too.

    Yours and your husband’s strength are a great inspiration to me! I wish you both the best in your recoveries.

Leave a Reply

